Namma Bengaluru Awards 2012 (CM)


Bescom MD P Manivannan is Namma Bengalurean of the Year

In the 2012 edition of the Namma Bengaluru Awards, 11 citizens are honoured with Namma Bengaluru Awards Bangalore for their outstanding contributions to Bangalore.

20 Mar 2013, Citizen Matters

Bescom MD P Manivannan, Head Constable Mahadev Sambargi, MLA of Jayanagar Consistuency, B N Vijay Kumar, Fr George Kannanthanam are among the winners of Namma Bengaluru Awards for 2012 given by the Namma Bengaluru Foundation to recognize the extra-ordinary contributions of ordinary citizens and organizations to the city.

The Namma Bengaluru Awards for 2012 received unprecedented response from the public with citizens nominating more than 61,000 citizens of Bengaluru. A 20 member jury, chaired by Pradeep Kar, Chairman of Microland consisted of prominent citizens of Bengaluru from the fields of art and culture, music, literature, law, media and environment. The jury, after serious deliberations, short-listed 52 finalists in eight categories and the award of the Namma Bengalurean.

The awards ceremony was held at the Malleshwaram ground and chief guest Prof G Venkatasubbaiah, the well known Kannada lexicographer gave away the awards. Professor G S Siddalingaiah, noted poet talked about the role played by the citizens to protect and nurture the values of Bengaluru.

The winners of the Namma Bengaluru Awards for 2012 are:

    1. Citizen (Individual): Fr George Kannanthanam, Founder, Sumanahalli Society

    2. Citizen's Youth Category: Kuldeep Dantewadia

    3. Citizens Group: Puttenhalli Neighborhood Lake Improvement Trust (PNLIT)

    4. Government Employee: B G Chengappa, Director Karnataka State Fire and Emergency Services

    5. Government Employee: Mahadev Rajappa Sambargi, Police Head Constable

    6. Government organization: Bangalore Traffic Police

    7. Social Entrepreneur: Y S Pavithra

    8. Elected Representative: Vijay Kumar, MLA, Jayanagar

    9. CSR: Britannia, for their work in solid waste management

    10. Media: Seethalakshmi S - Metro Editor, The Times of India

    11. Namma Bengalurean of The Year: P Manivannan


Read the full article and see the pics on Citizen Matters here.